English writings

Daily Prompt: Leave Smoking

How I Quit Smoking

How I Quit Smoking (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

Actually, when we take a decision to make a specific change in our lives, we have to organize the steps so we can go on with the decision. But in life, there are some changes that could never be postponed.

Last year, in the same period, I wasn’t thinking of quiting smoking, my only answer to the traditional question about the time I’ll leave smoking was: I will leave cigarettes one day, when I get bored of it. To be honest, my mind never decided to quit smoking, even with my parents’ daily advice.

What I didn’t think of happen! A day in last February, at night, I was not able to breathe, I felt like a big stone on my chest preventing me from breathing and an unusual voice was increasing from inside. I couldn’t understand what was happening, I tried to smoke, but I couldn’t. The next day, the same feelings, no ability for breathing, I recognized the reason is that cigarette that will kill me. At the same day I decided to make the big change in my life; I quited smoking from that moment.

Enhanced by Zemanta

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Leave Smoking

Remember: think and comment "out of the box"

